Former atheist, Darrin Rasberry returns to Christianity

December 1, 2011

Assuming this isn’t a hoax, Debunking Christianity guest blogger, Darrin Rasberry has returned to Christianity. In a post on his own blog, he explains why. I can identify. Forgive me if I quote too much, because the whole post is worth reading.

After fifteen years away from Christianity, most of which was spent as an atheist with an active, busy intent on destroying the faith, I returned to a church (with a real intention of going for worship) last Sunday. Although I know I may struggle with doubt for the rest of my life, my life as an atheist is over.

Briefly, I grew tired of the lack of explanation for: the existence of the universe, moral values and duties, objective human worth, consciousness and will, and many other topics.

As I fought so desperately to come up with refutations of these arguments – even going out of my way to personally meet many of their originators, defenders, and opponents – I realized that I could not answer them no matter how many long nights I spent hitting the books. The months of study rolled on to years, and eventually I found an increasing comfort around my God-believing enemies and a growing discontent and even anger at my atheist friends’ inability to kill off these fleas in debate and in writing, an anger that gave birth to my first feeling of separateness from skepticism after reading comments related to a definitively refuted version of the Christ Myth theory, the idea that Jesus Christ never even existed as a person at all. Line after line after line of people hating Christianity and laughing at its "lie," when solid scholarship refuting their idea was ignored completely. It showed that the motive of bashing and hating Christianity for some skeptics wasn’t based in reason and "free thinking" at all, although it would be unfair to lump many of my more intellectually rigorous and mentally cool skeptic friends in this way.

This is all the evangelism you’ll get from me (unless you ask after I’ve had too much Guinness) and I do hope it’s quite enough to motivate you to study the evidence for God’s existence yourself and to read the Bible without the predetermined idea of tearing it apart. Come over to the dark side; we have tea and cookies.

4 Responses to “Former atheist, Darrin Rasberry returns to Christianity”

  1. Matt Says:

    “Come over to the dark side; we have tea and cookies.”

    Great line.

  2. DD Says:

    Yeah, the last line is brilliant. Love it 🙂

    Nice post.

  3. Matthew Chiglinsky Says:

    I call myself an atheist, but what I find ironic is that some of my ethical principles align with what I learned was “Christianity” when I was growing up, and I do think America (the supposedly “Christian country”) and the world is in a sorry state right now.

    My primary opposition to Christianity is that instead of explaining the rationale behind morality, most Christians simply say, “God said so.” or “Jesus said so.” or “God/Jesus loves you, so do what they say.” and that’s not a good enough reason for truly intelligent people. Also, it’s not like Christians can even agree on what’s moral. Many Christians are war-mongering, rude, lustful hypocrites, which I don’t think represent Jesus very well, and that turns people away.

    — By the way, I still think prayer and miracles are superstitious nonsense that have nothing to do with living your life as a good person, and those are other distractions that detract from Christianity as a religion/philosophy. —

    I don’t really hate Jesus (nor do I exalt him), but I do hate his sorry excuses for followers.

  4. Greg Says:

    @Matthew Chiglinsky: Have you ever heard the saying, “I love Christ, it’s Christians I can’t stand”? I’m a Christian and sometimes that’s how I feel. But Christianity is about Christ, not about Christians. One does not become a Christian because of the character (or lack thereof) of Christ’s followers. One becomes a Christian because he/she believes that Jesus is the God He claimed to be and proved it by rising from the dead, and that through Him your sins are forgiven and you can have eternal life. Now, you may not believe that but I believe there are good reasons to believe it’s true, and good evidence to support it. Don’t be influenced by people – not even people who call themselves Christians. Be influenced by God and by His words in the Bible.


Leave a Reply

