Why is God called “Yahweh”?

May 27, 2010

Sometimes you come across things that you should know but you don’t. This piece of information was one of those things, and when I learnt it I thought it was fantastic. I have always loved what God tells Moses when he asks for his name,

Moses said to God,
“Suppose I go to the Israelites and say to them, ‘The God of your fathers has sent me to you,’ and they ask me, ‘What is his name?’ Then what shall I tell them?”

God said to Moses,
“I am who I am. This is what you are to say to the Israelites: ‘I AM has sent me to you.’ ”

The great ‘I am’. Eternally existing. It has always made sense to me that God would refer to himself in that way. It turns out, this is connected to the name Yahweh: 

In appearance, YHWH is an archaic third person singular imperfect of the verb “to be”, meaning, therefore, “He is”.

Leave a Reply

