Ten Bible Verses: God is eternal

April 14, 2010

Genesis 21:33

Abraham planted a tamarisk tree in Beersheba, and there he called upon the name of the LORD, the Eternal God.


Psalm 90:1-4

Lord, you have been our dwelling place
throughout all generations.

Before the mountains were born
or you brought forth the earth and the world,
from everlasting to everlasting you are God.

You turn men back to dust,
saying, “Return to dust, O sons of men.”

For a thousand years in your sight
are like a day that has just gone by,
or like a watch in the night.


Exodus 3:13-14

Moses said to God, “Suppose I go to the Israelites and say to them, ‘The God of your fathers has sent me to you,’ and they ask me, ‘What is his name?’ Then what shall I tell them?”  God said to Moses, “I am who I am. This is what you are to say to the Israelites: ‘I AM has sent me to you.’


Psalm 100:5

For the LORD is good and his love endures forever;
his faithfulness continues through all generations.

Ephesians 3:10-11

His intent was that now, through the church, the manifold wisdom of God should be made known to the rulers and authorities in the heavenly realms, according to his eternal purpose which he accomplished in Christ Jesus our Lord.

John 8:58

I tell you the truth,” Jesus answered, “before Abraham was born, I am!


Revelation 1:8

I am the Alpha and the Omega,” says the Lord God, “who is, and who was, and who is to come, the Almighty.

Isaiah 57:15

For this is what the high and lofty One says—
he who lives forever, whose name is holy:
“I live in a high and holy place,
but also with him who is contrite and lowly in spirit,
to revive the spirit of the lowly
and to revive the heart of the contrite.”

Deuteronomy 33:27

The eternal God is your refuge

1 Timothy 1:17

Now to the King eternal, immortal, invisible, the only God, be honor and glory for ever and ever. Amen.

Photos by: jaci XIII Robbert van der Steeg
Technorati Tags: , , , ,

17 Responses to “Ten Bible Verses: God is eternal”

  1. Mr Z Says:

    The holy text of any theistic religion claims their god is eternal – pretty standard stuff. If the Bible did not claim God to be eternal, it would be the same as admitting that God is not a god. A poor position to argue from in the ‘my god is better than your god’ game.

  2. Chucky Says:

    Hi Mr Z,

    As always, good comment. I agree. It seems clear to me, like you say, that the creator of the universe has to be eternal. One verse I left off is this famous one (Romans 1:20):

    “For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities — his eternal power and divine nature — have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that men are without excuse.”

    I’m not out to knock other people – I’d prefer to build them up. If someone thinks logically about it and concludes God must be eternal, that’s awesome.

  3. David Spackeen Says:

    THANK YOU VERY MUCH, i am leading a bible study on Sunday 11/14/2010 title ” GOD IS FOREVER” you have been very helpful Thank You Again, MAY THE PEACE OF CHRIST BE WITH YOU ALWAY’S. IN GOD’S HOLY NAME, AMEN

  4. Mr Z Says:

    Chucky,
    What I was saying is that when making up a new religion or deity, you can’t say my deity is the best deity if your deity doesn’t live at least as long as everybody else’s deities. Thus, you have to claim your deity is eternal. Of course there’s not much point worshiping a deity if they don’t also offer to make you eternal as well since other deities make such an offer. That sort of arms race is why you can no longer find a new car without cup holders or a good radio. It’s a marketing thing.

  5. Jennefer Says:

    Thank you for your post. I was doing some research for a prayer I am writing and this was perfect.

    I discovered that the verse you have listed as Deut. 33:17 is actually found in Deut. 33:27. Hope that helps. :)

  6. Chucky Says:

    Thanks for that!

  7. Ron Francis Says:

    Thank you Sir Chucky! You remind me our GOD is at the top of a list of ONE!

  8. Quora Says:

    For Christians who believe in the big bang and evolution, when do they believe god ‘began’?…

    God is eternal – without beginning or end. An eternal being doesn’t come into existence, but rather always exists and always will. This answer should be the same both for Creationists (traditional Christians) and Theistic Evolutionists (Christians who…

  9. Frank Doonan Says:

    Despite many quotes describing God is eternal, many Christians hold the later theological view that God is outside time.


  10. A very useful reference.


  11. Wow, it’s good to see so many comments here making claims that they cannot prove. Bold, brash, and with no more evidence than “hey, look it says so in this book” … that’s just awesome.

    @Ron Francis
    I think you missed a memo… Yahweh was but one of the gods worshiped by the Jews. That’s why Moses had to go to such lengths to establish that there was only one god, to not have any other gods before Yahweh. It is not, and never has been a list of one. Early Jews were pantheists. Put the cool-aid down.

  12. Jayavelu Says:

    Our Lord JESUS CHRIST is the Way, Truth & Life – He loves you with everlasting gracious love

  13. loloo Says:

    Don’t you understand that Jesus is not God.
    Jesus did not call people to worship Him!! He called to worship one and eternal God. Call to worship his father (Allah) the creator.
    The Lord of the Muslims, Jews and the Lord of Jesus.

    Koran chapter 112
    1-Say, “He is Allah , [who is] One,
    2- Allah , the Eternal Refuge.
    3- He neither begets nor is born,
    4- Nor is there to Him any equivalent.”

  14. Irish_Red Says:

    @ loloo John 8:58 (KJV)
    58 Jesus said unto them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Before Abraham was, I am.

  15. Bill Timmer Says:

    @loloo

    Titus 2:13 – looking for the blessed hope and glorious appearing of our great God and Savior Jesus Christ

    John 14:6-7 – Jesus said to him, “I AM the way, the truth, and the Life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.”

    John 8:24 – “Therefore I said to you that you will die in your sins; for if you do not believe that I AM He, you will die in your sins.”

    Acts 4:12 – “Nor is there salvation in any other, for there is no other name under heaven given among men by which we must be saved.”

    I could go on and on…

  16. rico alejandro Says:

    I know this is a long time after this stuff was posted, but it has become apparent to me that a lot and I do mean many “atheists” sprout up in christian forums, discussions, threads, yada yada yada. It reveals to me, a desire, a curiosity for more clarity and understanding on what christians actually believe, whether it be a surface driven hunger to fuel their argument or give them a little leverage in their next debate; or just a quick fix to their ego to feel they got the upper hand, to disprove these “fools” that are so “violently” “forcing” their false religion down their throats. (I’m sorry if anybody is, that’s a real shame that they’re wasting so much zeal without yielding to the Holy Spirit who will guide them in all truth, I’ve had to deal with this, and it’s frustrating, and I’ve been on the other end as well, thinking I’m doing the world a favor, though in sincerity of the salvation of the soul by moving too hastily I possibly caused more harm than good.)Yeah, anyways I believe God’s word. Psalm 14:1 [The fool says in his heart, "There is no God."] I also believe there is hope for everyone, especially fools much like I’ve been throughout my life; I still sin and fall short of the glory of God at times, but for reasons God only knows He won’t give up on me, it’s hard for me to accept at times but He loves me, unconditionally, if there’s anyone who doesn’t understand this ask the Father who will gladly oblige you with His manifold wisdom. “The Lord isn’t really being slow about his promise, as some people think. No, he is being patient for your sake. He does not want anyone to be destroyed, but wants everyone to repent.” 2 Peter 3:9 And it is a true privilege indeed that we are blessed with the opportunity to repent, and the cost of this gift was paid by Jesus Christ, when He took on the sins of all humanity, and defeated Hell, Death, and the Grave; obtaining the keys to the kingdom, taking back the rights that adam and eve lost to satan in the garden. That we might partake in His glorious victory celebrating life here on earth as we stand on His eternal word, and He perfects us for His triumphant return, when every knee shall bow and every tongue confess, that Jesus Christ is Lord over the heavens and the earth, and every thing under the earth.

  17. Mr. Obvious Says:

    @myatheistlife
    From your comments it is apparent that you have not read the Bible. It is filled with verifiable facts, prophesies and first-hand accounts most of which have been verified to have already come true and none ever proven false. Yet you constantly quote from this same bible out of context. How can you speak with any authority if you do not know what it is you speak of? From a purely logical and philosophical point of view, how do you justify your self-righteous talk? It is evident that you regurgitate what others have to say, but don’t you owe it to yourself to own those conclusions first before you speak? Before I vote, I research the issues, the people and the supporters. I analyze the situation, the cause, the reasoning behind the scenes. Don’t you think speaking to others with believability and integrity requires at least that much? So I direct you to please read the Bible. Then are you are welcome to have a theological discussion. Then are you are qualified to speak.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

